Please help keep Long Lake boating safe and fun for everyone! Your participation and compliance with current safety rules and regulations on the lake will be greatly appreciated and contribute to an enjoyable experience for everyone.
Spend a few minutes to review the rules below before you head out on the lake.
1. There is a New York State 5 mph speed limit for motorboats and personal water craft (PWC) within 100 feet of any shore, dock, pier, raft, float or anchored boat. (This rule is very important within the "Narrows" of Long Lake just north of the town bridge). The "Narrows" region is only 300 feet wide so boaters are reminded to stay within the central portion of this region if traveling above 5mph. Boaters are reminded to slow down to enter docks and shoreline regions in the Narrows. Tubing and wakeboarding should be conducted outside this region to avoid creating wakes that can potentially upset kayaks and canoes traveling through. PWC creating wakes and sharp turns for enjoyment should also think about traveling into the wider lake areas.
2. Reduce speed and increase distance when near swimmers, canoes, or kayaks. Remember your wake can be dangerous.
3. Speed limit under the Long Lake bridge is 5 mph.
4. Reckless operation of motorboats and PWC is prohibited. This includes weaving through congested traffic, wake jumping, or intentional last minute swerving.
5. Constant circling and figure eights in one area should be avoided.
6. Motorboats and PWC must yield right of way to canoes, kayak, and sailing vessels.
7. It is illegal for any driver to operate a motorboat or PWC while intoxicated or with ability impaired. It is illegal for anyone under 21 years of age to operate a motorboat or PWC after consuming ANY alcohol, and may result in the loss of operating privileges until age 21.
8. Motorboat operators between the ages of 10 and 18 years old MUST have completed a safety course and have a valid NYS Safety Certificate.
9. PWC operators must be at least 14 years old and MUST have a valid NYS Safety Certificate.
10. There must be at least one wearable personal flotation device (PFD) on board all water vessels including canoes and kayaks. Children under 12 are required to wear a PDF when vessel is underway.
11. Operation of PWC is prohibited between sunset and sunrise anywhere in NYS.
Penalties are substantial for violations of any of these regulations:
Civil Penalties-$125 and loss of operating privileges for 6-12 months
Criminal Penalties- 1st offense - up to $100 fine, 2nd offense - up to $250 fine and/or 15 days in jail
Long Lake NYS DEC boat launch site with hard surface ramp, room for 60 cars and trailers. Location on Olivet/Dock Road off Route 30 in Long Lake.
Forked Lake State Campground has a New York State boat launch site with beach launch and room for 40 cars and trailers. Location on County Route 3/Buttermilk Falls/Northpoint Rd.
Lake Eaton State Campground NYS DEC beach launch with room for 12 cars and trailers. Location off Route 30 North towards Tupper Lake.
Boat Safety Course Requirements:
Check out the deadlines for getting a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel at https://parks.ny.gov/boating/education.aspx
All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificated by January 1, 2025. Classes are available in person and online.